top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErica Bryant

The role and value of the ally

Updated: Oct 14, 2019


Discuss the role and value of the ally. Do you see ways you can support change movements as a change agent?

The ally is an important part of any change movement. It is a person from the dominant group who works against any form of oppression from which the person receives a benefit. The opportunity in our role as ally is simple: “to raise hell with others like us and to interrupt the cycle of oppression. Because of our very privilege, we have the potential to stir up good trouble, to challenge the status quo, and to inspire real and lasting change” (Ayvazian 611). The value is powerful because it increases equity, reduces violence, and provides positive role models to members of the dominant groups. It gives members of the dominant groups an opportunity to take the shame and guilt of privilege and turn from oppressor to change agent (Ayvazian 612). I can support change movements as a change agent by engaging my role as ally when appropriate and accepting the ally when I am a member of the oppressed group. I can engage in non-violent actions such as protests and consumer boycotts. Most importantly, I must always have knowledge of self and be able to identify the privileges that I enjoy and the oppression that I must overcome.


How can you continue to grow?

Question everything. Evaluate assumptions and think beyond the scope of the identity groups to which I belong. To achieve this I must continue to engage with people outside of my identity groups and be a lifelong learner.


Works Cited

Ayvazian, A. (2001). Interrupting the Cycle of Oppression: The role of allies as agents of change. In P.S. Rothenberg (Ed.), Race Class, and Gender in the United States (5th ed.) (pp. 609-615). New York: Worth Publishers.



16 views0 comments
bottom of page